Featured Local News


ARMY RESERVE National Scholar/Athlete Award
The Army Reserve plays an important partnership with students and staff at Wayne HS. In fact, many students are able to afford college due to their dedicated service in the Army Reserves. Some of our staff members have obtained their college degrees because of their patriotic duty in the armed services and the benefits of the GI Bill to assist with college costs.

The Army Reserves traditionally recognizes a female and a male student athlete that demonstrates dedication to both academics and athletics. I’m proud to announce that this year’s recipients are:
Female: Jebria Green
Male: Jonas Thatcher

Eugene White Outstanding Minority Scholar
This award is given to an African-American senior who has achieved academic excellence, as well as contributing to Wayne HS through service and involvement in school activities. Dr. Eugene White served as the Principal for Wayne HS from 1985 to 1990, before leaving FWCS to become the Superintendent of the Indianapolis Public School System. The recipient certainly demonstrates the heart and attitude of service above self.
Bianca Barcenes

William Davis Service Award
Mr. William Davis served as the very first Principal for Wayne HS from 1971 to 1985. This award is given to senior students who have contributed to school projects that have benefited students, parents, faculty and administration.
The winners must have contributed concretely through projects and volunteer work over a four year period and must have shown a positive mental attitude and service to Wayne HS. The recipient recognizes the value and commitment toward community service work.
Alejandra Perez

Dr. Hans Sheridan – Principal’s Leadership Award
Dr. Sheridan successfully served at the Principal for Wayne HS from 1994 to 1996. This award is presented annually to a senior who demonstrates “Wayne Pride”, brought honor to Wayne High School through his/her attitude and accomplishments and is dedicated to the betterment of school and community through selfless service.

Dr. Sheridan presented this award to:
Alexis Copeland

Mellannie Bishop Memorial Scholarship Award
This award was recently created in 2015 to honor the memory of Mellannie Bishop, Class of 2016. Mellannie was committed to her family, to serving the community, and to helping young children. Students who are considered for this scholarship exemplify those attributes and have a vision of how their education and experiences will help mold their futures.
Dasia Jones

PTSA Scholarship
This scholarship was recently created by PTSA for Wayne HS students. It is awarded to a senior who is committed to education as well as their volunteer efforts, and has shown that he/she has the persistence to overcome challenges on their way to success.

On April 27th, one of our Wayne High School PTSA members, and former PTSA Officer (Mrs. Tammy Doss) lost her hard fought battle with cancer. Mrs. Doss was a committed PTSA Officer and served unselfishly when the Wayne and Elmhurst High School’s blended together as one school. Mrs. Doss’ daughter (Shauna Doss) was one of our first New Tech graduates, and her son (Dustin Doss) is currently a freshman at Wayne HS.

Mr. Danny Doss, along with current PTSA President (Mr. David Torres) presented the PTSA Scholarship Award.

Kyle Pessefall
Administrative Team Members:
John Houser: Principal
Liz Bryan:
New Tech Principal
Chuck DeFord,
Asst. Principal
Robb Robison, Asst. Principal
Andrea Derrickson,
Asst. Principal
Ashley Finneran,
Asst. Principal
Promise Smith, Admin. Asst.
Lorenzo Wims,
New Tech Admin. Asst.
Marty Foltz,
Attendance Coordinator
Heather Kolar, New Tech Guidance Counselor
Ron Wilkins, Guidance Coordinator (11th Grade)
Jason Nevils, Guidance Counselor (12th grade)
Helen Tobo, Guidance Counselor (10th Grade)
Shirley Jones-Sewell, Guidance Counselor
(9th Grade)
Gary Raber, Athletic Director
Virgil Griffin,
Administrative Intern
Shane Crager,
Administrative Intern

The Waynedale News Staff
Latest posts by The Waynedale News Staff (see all)

The Waynedale News Staff

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff