Featured Local News


At BaerField Speedway this Saturday, it could be a do-or-die weekend for the Street Stocks. Ryan McIntyre holds a 105-point lead over Zach Vandall with Frank Casagrande (pictured above) and Jan Long all within 166 points of the lead! Racing at 7:30!The Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS headed to Baer Field Speedway in last Saturday night as part of the 16th Annual Gold Cup event at the track. Saturday’s event was the fifth event of the season for the CRA Late Model Sportsman, as of that date Jason Atkinson had won two events, Trey Craig one event and 13 year old Chris Hacker was the winner of 2 of the past Friday night’s PGG 75 at Anderson Speedway. With the victory, Hacker became the youngest winner in CRA history.

Mark Lambert came in Saturday night’s event with a slim two-point lead in Season Championship points over 2012 series Champion KC Spillers, a Fort Wayne native. Lambert has one-second place finish and three straight third place finishes in the series four events so far this season. Spiller finished seventh in the series season opener, but now has three straight second place finishes in the last three series events. Atkinson is in third place in points, in a season that seems to be wins or DNF’s so far. Atkinson is 21 points behind Spillers. Josh Cave is in fourth place in points while Hacker is in fifth place in points and is the leading Rookie of the Year in points.

Several of the Baer Field Speedway Late Model competitors were in action Saturday night to battle against the best of the CRA Late Model Sportsman. Al Cook Jr. is currently leading the Baer Field Speedway points, John Gatton is in second, Tommy Cook is third, Dean Cook fourth and Derek Hoffman is in fifth place.

Pit gates opened Saturday at 2pm, practice began at 3:30pm with qualifying at 5:30pm. The race program began at 7:30pm and included heat races and the 50-lap Gold Cup Feature for the Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS.

Following a review of the video from Saturday, here are the OFFICIAL results of the July 27, Afdent Mini Stocks Gold Cup Feature:

1 – 7 Keith Barker Jr.
2 – 90 Brad McBride
3 – 37 Kevin Howard
4 – 42 Zac Sipe
5 – 27 Eric Woods
6 – 38 Rob Nave
7 – 17 Lee Gillingham
8 – 50 Christopher Howard
9 – 9 Cory Nuttle
10 – 1 Alan Puff
11 – 71 Kevin Dibble
12 – 28 Steve Mabee
13 – 62 Mike Mayes (DNS)

The race was stopped due to an accident and never restarted. Scoring reverts back to the last completed lap, with the cars who triggered the incident placed at the tail.

So, Fort Wayne’s Baer Field Speedway will, once again, look to fill the stands with a just-announced, extra “$20 CAR LOAD/FAMILY NIGHT” this Saturday, August 3. Be it a car, truck, bus, train, plane, boat or bike, any vehicle that can make it onto the property, will see ALL the passengers admitted into the track for just one $20 bill!

On-track action will feature a full five-division “Super Show” of Late Models, Fantastic Sams Modifieds, Street Stocks, Afdent Mini Stocks, and Front Wheel Drives on the 3/8th mile short-track. For added entertainment, there will be pre-race KIDS RACECAR RIDES and SPECTATOR RACES!

The show will begin with the re-scheduled 35-lap “Gold Cup” Street Stock Feature from July 27, so all fans will get an extra added race.

With last weeks postponed Feature added to this week’s schedule, along with a full regular program, this could be a do-or-die weekend for the Street Stocks. Ryan McIntyre holds a 105-point lead over Zach Vandall with Frank Casagrande and Jan Long all within 166 points of the lead. Feature-winner Josh Perkins sits fifth ahead of two-time winner Alex Vonderau, Kenny Coe, three-time winner Dave Bice, Tim Miller, and Jake Hinton. Rookie Keith Barker Jr. continues atop the Afdent Dental Mini Stocks by 95 points over defending Champion Kevin Dibble, Zac Sipe, Brad McBride, Mike Mayes, Lee Gillingham, Rob Nave, Alan Puff, Christopher Howard, and Kevin Howard. Five-time Front Wheel Drive feature-winner Brian Janes suffered a rough night and saw his lead cut to only 129 markers over Gold Cup winner “Smilin’ Bob” Masters. Shawn Poffenberger sits third followed by Matt Janes, Jacob Bradley, R.J. Weick, Kenny Spillers, Ryan Spillers, Josh Miller, and Derrick Poppe.

Pit gates open at 2:00; practice is at 3:00; spectator gates open at 4:00; qualifying is at 5:00; racecar rides at 7:00; and RACING at 7:30!

The Waynedale News Staff

The Waynedale News Staff

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff