Featured Local News


Coe-ScottA summer’s-worth of hard-work, dedication, skill, and some luck will culminate this Saturday night with the 2013 “SEASON CHAMPIONSHIPS” for the Baer Field Speedway Late Models and Fantastic Sams Modifieds. The five-divisions “Super Show” will also include the Street Stocks; Afdent Dental Mini Stocks; and Front Wheel Drives.

The Late Models see an epic points fight that transcends the sport, as two long-time rivals will square off in what could be the final race of both their careers. Battling stage-four cancer, 2013 “Hall of Fame” inductee Al Cook Jr. trails John Gatton Jr. by just 26 points. While Cook struggles just to survive, Gatton faces a decision on whether to continue his own driving career, or focus on the budding careers of his children. 2011 Champion Dean Cook sits third ahead of 2012 Champion Derek Hoffman with last weeks winner Neal Richardson in fifth followed by Tommy Cook, Jesse Opliger, Oliver Fitzwater, Steve Christman, and Chad Richardson.

The Fantastic Sams Modifieds will see considerably less drama as five-time Feature-winner Scott Coe has already locked-up his first-ever Baer Field Speedway Track Championship. Two-time winner Mike Mayes will finish second while a four-way battle will be waged for third. Coming off his third win of the season, Coe Motorsports teammate Terry Fisher Jr. holds that third spot over Brent Martin, Jeremy Wallen, and Jerry Hammond. Defending track Champion Steve Minich Jr., Don Skaggs, Steve Shlater Jr., and “Gold Cup” winner Pete Wormcastle round out the top-10.

The remaining divisons will see thri points battles settled on September 14. In the Street Stocks, Ryan McIntyre holds a 147-point lead over two-time feature-winner Josh Perkins, Frank Casagrande, Alex Vonderau, Jan Long, Shawn Bonar, Kenny Coe, Zach Vandall, Marcus Method Jr. and Tyler Clark. Rookie Keith Barker Jr. continues atop the Afdent Dental Mini Stocks by 191 points over defending Champion Kevin Dibble, Brad McBride, Zac Sipe, Lee Gillingham, Kevin Howard, Christopher Howard, Rob Nave, Alan Puff, and Mike Mayes. Despite moving his potent “dreamsicle” Accura up to the Mini Stock division, eight-time Front Wheel Drive feature-winner Brian Janes holds a 232 point lead over older brother Matt Janes. Gold Cup winner “Smilin’ Bob” Masters sits third followed by Shawn Poffenberger, R.J. Weick, Kenny Spillers, feature-winner Jacob Bradley, Ryan Spillers, Josh Miller, and Chris Jackson.

Saturday, gates will open at 2:00; with practice at 3:30; qualifying at 5:30; and RACING at 7:30! Adult admission for this show will be $12 and all kids 12-and-under will be admitted FREE!

The Waynedale News Staff

The Waynedale News Staff

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff