Highlights the 400-year history of the telescope–its history, its contribution, its failures, and its future
The History Center announces the opening of a new temporary exhibit, “Observing the Heavens: A 400-Year History of Telescopes,” which runs March 15 through June 16, 2010. This exhibit features the development and history of the telescope, from its invention of the eye-glass spectacles in 1608 to the largest telescopes in the world that are currently under construction or still on the drawing board. A highlight of the exhibit is a replica of Galileo’s 1609 20X telescope that revolutionized the outlook of the heavens, and eventually earned him the title “Father of Science.” A large 1/4 scale model of the 150 ft. Hevelius telescope constructed around 1650 will also be on display.
Other models and actual telescopes will include the first radio telescope, the Fort Wayne Astronomical Society’s 12-1/2 inch telescope, and special telescopes that are unique in design. Related artifacts and images from the History Center’s collection will be on display, including telescopes, microscopes, eyeglasses, monocles, and binoculars.
“Observing the Heavens” exhibit is sponsored by the Fort Wayne Astronomical Society. The public is invited to the exhibit’s ribbon-cutting at the History Center on Tuesday, March 16, at 6:00 pm.
The History Center is located at 302 East Berry Street, Fort Wayne, Indiana. For more information, call 260.426.2882.
> Read More Information About Us
> More Articles Written By Our Staff
Latest posts by The Waynedale News Staff (see all)
- KENNETH PAUL HITZEMAN, 71 - December 8, 2017
- VERN E. “JUNIOR” BOOKER, 76 - December 8, 2017
- EQUIPMENT & MANPOWER READY TO CLEAR HIGHWAYS THIS WINTER - December 8, 2017