Fort Wayne Newspapers Three Rivers Festival is pleased to announce the winners of the 2008 National City Parade Grand Marshall Contest. The contest began in mid-March and concluded April 21, 2008. The winners were mailed notification on April 25th and are as follows:


Robert Anweiler Junior of Fort Wayne, born July 20; Kelly Bolinger of Auburn, born July 2; Mark Carboni of Fort Wayne, born May 15; Melinda Doehrman of Indianapolis, born June 2; Lara Dorsett of Fort Wayne, born February 6; Perry Glancy of Fort Wayne, born September 20; Carolyn Spake-Leeper of Fort Wayne, born July 31; David Moran of Fort Wayne, born June 21; and Daren Shaffer of Fort Wayne, born April 12; Also riding on the float with the winners will be Honorary Grand Marshal Bill Houseman, the first Three Rivers Festival Executive Director.

After careful consideration each of the candidates was chosen based on Three Rivers Festival past participation, enthusiasm, and community dedication. By winning the contest each of the Grand Marshals will receive a place on the TRF Birthday Float, parade seats for their families, a photo with Admiral Andy, a birthday sash and hat, a Grand Marshal badge that is valid for concert/VIP admittance throughout the festival, festival merchandise, and a picture in the Three Rivers Festival Guide.

The National City Parade will take place Saturday, July 12th in downtown Fort Wayne. Over 130 units participate annually including 15 local marching bands. For additional information regarding the marshals or parade information, please call the Three Rivers Festival office at (260) 426-5556.

The Waynedale News Staff
Latest posts by The Waynedale News Staff (see all)

The Waynedale News Staff

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff