Featured Local NewsHealth & Exercise


Wayne High School announces the Wayne Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2016-17 to honor former student athletes, coaches, contributors and teams who helped build a tradition of athletic and academic excellence that continues at Wayne High School. The 2016-17 Hall of Fame Induction ceremony was held at Wayne High School on Friday, January 27, 2017 at 5:15 PM. in the school Cafe’.

After a short meet and greet session, Mr. Gary Raber, the Wayne High School Athletic Director, opened the ceremony by introducing the Hall of Fame selection committee members. Following a catered meal by Casa’s, Mr. John Houser, Principal introduced each inductee of the 2017 Wayne Athletic Hall of Fame Class.

Roosevelt Barnes (Athlete):
Mr. Barnes is a 1977 graduate and participated in football, basketball and baseball and named to five All-SAC teams, two All-State teams, and two Indiana All-Star teams. He established several basketball records that still stand today, including: second career all-time highest scoring and assists, first all-time highest points per game, second single season scoring and third single season assists.

Jill Homrig Powers (Athlete):
Mrs. Powers a 1987 graduate, received twelve athletic letters, participation in volleyball, basketball, track and tennis. She was the Valedictorian of her class, and was a three years All-SAC in volleyball, two years All-SAC in basketball and tennis, two years All-Area in volleyball and was selected to the academic All-State volleyball team her senior year.

Nate Tubbs (Athlete):
Mr. Tubbs is a 1989 graduate, who participated in football and basketball and was named to the All-SAC team three times, Indiana All-Stars team and the Indiana All- State team. Mr. Tubbs played basketball at Minnesota University and later went on to the European Basketball League as well as playing in Brazil, Latvia and South Korea.

Will Doehrman (Coach):
Mr. Doehrman graduated form Concordia High School in 1948 and Valparaiso College in 1953. After making the All-conference team in baseball and basketball while in high school. While teaching Math at FWCS for thirty- one years, he coached basketball for twenty-four years with 282 wins. The Wayne’s men’s basketball team won sectional championships in 1976, 1977, 1981 and 1994, along with SAC holiday tournament wins in 1976, 1989, 1993 and a regional championship in 1981.

Dave Fireoved (Coach):
Mr. Fireoved coached baseball for thirteen years with 230 wins, while he taught physical education for FWCS for thirty-five years. The Wayne General Baseball team won a conference championship in 1992, sectional champs in 1988, 1990 and 1992 along with the regional championship and competed in the semi-state in 1992. Mr. Fireoved was an assistant coach to the Indiana State All-Star team, in his final year of coaching.

Jim Lambert (Contributor):
Mr. Lambert was an industrial technology teacher with FWCS for forty years, with twenty of them at Wayne High School. He was named teacher of the year in 1992, led the student council from 1989-2000, and still acts as the official scorer for home wrestling events since 1989. He donates several paintings, his time to help maintain the baseball stadium along with designed and built the boys and girls track record board. Kept scrapbooks for athletes and completed special projects for the Athletic Director, Principal and several coaches, and still serves as the President of the Wayne Athletic Booster Club since 2014.

1973 Men’s Track (Team):
The 1973 men’s track team won both the regional and state titles, with the following athletics: Charles Cammack, Willie Knox, John Mitchell, Wilford Rouse, Willie Underwood and Watt L. Williams and was coached by Nelson Detwiler.

Charles Cammack (Track Team Member):
Mr. Cammack was the relay team alternate. He was a member of the IHSAA Track & Field Regional and State Championships, on the Shuttle Hurdle relay team and set a North Side Relays record and a national record.

Willie Knox (Track Team Member):
Mr. Knox placed second in the 120-yard dash and second in the 220-yard dash along with part of the second place 880 yard relay team.

John Mitchell (Track Team Member):
Mr. Mitchell was the State Champion in the 120-yard high hurdles, and second place in the 180-yard low hurdles, along with part of the second place 880-yard relay team.

Wilford Rouse (Track Team Member):
Mr. Rouse was a part of the second place 880-yard relay team.

Willie Underwood (Track Team Member):
Mr. Underwood was a part of the second place 880-yard relay team.

Watt L. Williams (Track Team Member):
Mr. Williams was the team alternate for the relays.

Nelson Detwiler (Track Team Coach):
Mr. Detwiler was inducted into the first class of Wayne High School Hall of Fame as a coach in 2016. He coached boys track and cross country at Wayne, and taught industrial technology starting in 1972 until his retirement in 1989. Being part of the 1973 track team as a coach was one of the highlights in his career.

The Waynedale News Staff

The Waynedale News Staff

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff