Waynedale Business


Catholic leaders of northeast Indiana met to complete the formation of the Saint Thomas More Society of Fort Wayne, Indiana, a private association affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Fort Wayne – South Bend, serving under the oversight of Bishop Kevin Rhoades. After several months of planning, the society formally adopted its Constitution and Bylaws and elected its founding Governors and Officers. Very Rev. Mark A. Gurtner, J.C.L has been appointed Chaplain by Bishop Rhoades.

“The society is a wonderful opportunity to honor and emulate Saint Thomas More, the patron saint of attorneys, statesmen and politicians,” said Rev. Gurtner. “Indeed, his steadfast conviction in the face of death is a reminder for legal professionals to not forsake their private conscious for their public duties.” The Saint Thomas More Society is a Catholic professional association that promotes the mutual interaction of faith and culture in the realm of law and public policy. Any lawyer, member of the judiciary, canon lawyer, law professor or student at an ABA accredited law school residing, practicing, serving, or studying primarily in the greater Fort Wayne area is eligible to apply for membership.

The elected Officers are President – Hon. Craig J. Bobay, Magistrate Judge, Allen Circuit Court; Vice President – Liz Brown, Civil and Domestic Mediator; Treasurer – Tom Niezer, Barrett & McNagny LLP; and Hon. Michael J. Kramer, Noble Superior Court.

In addition to its continued role in preparing for and hosting the annual Red Mass, the society will arrange programs and activities related to the intellectual and religious growth of the members, as well as honor those professionals that represent the principles and ideals of St. Thomas More.

Founding Governors also include: Kathleen Anderson – Barnes & Thornburg LLP, Michael Barranda – Burt, Blee, Dixon, Sutton & Bloom, LLP; Hon. Thomas J. Felts – Judge, Allen Circuit Court; Scott Hall – Hall & Gooden, LLP; Hon. Kent W. Kiracofe – Judge, Wells Circuit Court; Chris Nancarrow – Chief Deputy, Allen County Clerk of Courts.
Professionals interested in membership opportunities may contact Membership Chair, Chris Nancarrow at cnancarr@gmail.com.

The Waynedale News Staff

The Waynedale News Staff

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff