Featured Local News


Elmhurst Big League won the District 10 Big League tournament by beating St. Joe 8-5. The championship game was played Thursday night, July 2nd. Big League is made up of high school players ages 16-18.

Elmhurst was granted a waiver to add three 15 year olds to their roster. The majority of the team were 15 and 16 year olds. Players from four different high schools were brought together to make up Elmhurst’s roster; Josh Ulrey of Bishop Luers, John Dukarski of South Side, Elmhurst High School-Nick Best, Justin Durr, and Jarad McFarland joined Wayne High’s Jacob Berghoff, Justin Biggs, Jason Durnell, Chase Forshee, Christian Harmeyer, Charles Harvard, Keaston Jackson, Casey Reid, Travis Smith, Josh Stahl, and James Wyss to form the powerhouse.

In this 12-team tournament Josh Ulrey pitched Elmhurst to an opening tournament win against St. Joe’s 4th seeded team. Josh struck out 9 batters, and walked only 1 in his 6 and 1/3 innings of work. Justin Durr picked up the victory getting the final two outs in the top of the 7th inning to pick up a 5-4 win. Charles Harvard scored the winning run in the bottom of the 7th inning on a double by Josh Ulrey.

In the 2nd game, freshman Keaston Jackson struck out 11 batters in 5 and 1/3 innings picking up the victory. Justin Durr gave up 1 run in 1 and 2/3 innings of relief to secure the win in a 10-6, 3 hitter over Hamilton ark.

In the championship game Christian Harmeyer pitched 4 and 1/3 innings holding the 5th seeded St. Joe Team to 3 earned runs. St. Joe had 15 hits but could only muster 5 runs against Elmhurst’s stifling defense. Elmhurst turned a double play and center fielder Jarad McFarland threw out a runner at the plate trying to score. Justin Biggs closed out the victory allowing 1 run in 2 and 2/3 innings of relief pitching.

Pacing the Elmhurst offense were Jason Durnell who batted .571. Keaston Jackson was 6 of 11 for a .545 average. Charles Harvard 5 of 11 for a .455 and Josh Ulrey was 4 of 9 for a .444 average and had a team high 7 RBI’s.

Elmhurst was awarded a large trophy and individual medals by District 10 President George Glick. Elmhurst was coached by Jim Conley and Andy Dukarski.

The Waynedale News Staff
Latest posts by The Waynedale News Staff (see all)

Andy Dukarski

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff