St. Joseph-St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School in Fort Wayne, Indiana, is pleased to announce that 27 students have been named 2005 Great Lakes Scholars.

Winners include:

Jeffrey Andrews

Alexis Baker

Anthony Baldassari

Kailyn Baumgartner

Kara B. Baumgartner

Erin M. Conroy

Caroline Doelling

Morgan K. Galecki

Amanda Gigli

Lauren Hellinger

Drew Hentz

Emily Hentz

Bryce Hill

Rachel Hyder

Amy Krach

Emily Krach

Olivia Lee

Anna McNamara

Nicholas Miles

Ryan Petrill

Samantha Rahrig

Ashlyn C. Rang

Austen C. Rang

Gabriella Scott

Madeline Scott

Alexander C. Yaney


The noted students join over 9,000 students in grades 3-8 from across the Great Lakes Region of the Midwest that received such acclaim. Over 2,000 schools participated in the project to select and honor students who not only excel academically but who also show they are well-rounded individuals. To find a qualified individual, teachers were asked to only consider students with a B average or higher. From there, they were asked to nominate students who were involved in extra curricular activities, athletics, community or church groups, and who are involved in community service. Students then submitted an application to complete the process.

The Great Lakes Scholars program was established to inspire children to achieve with the hope that it motivates students at a young age level to show that achievement counts, hard work matters, and actively participating in school and community events is important.

According to Lois Widner, Principal, “We are so pleased with our 27 Great Lakes Scholars. These students exemplify the outstanding characteristics of our high achieving students and are wonderful role models.”

“It is inspiring for us to see all that these young people have accomplished,” said Mike Gill, President of the organization. “As I read the applications that came into our office, I was amazed at how active and involved these students are in so many activities. We have a wealth of developing talent in our region. A Great Lakes Scholar who is a classroom leader today may be a future leader of our country.”

Great Lakes Scholars was founded in 1998 and currently honors students in Michigan, Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, and Michigan.

The Waynedale News Staff

The Waynedale News Staff

Our in-house staff works with community members and our local writers to find, write and edit the latest and most interesting news-worthy stories. We are your free community newspaper, boasting positive, family friendly and unique news. > Read More Information About Us > More Articles Written By Our Staff