There have been a long line of outstanding civic servants who have preceded me as your Fourth District City Councilman. I particularly want to salute the service of Tom Hayhurst as I begin my term as your councilman.
He has been a councilman attentive to the needs of the Fourth District. I look to him as a model for constituent service.

I have spoken to three neighborhood association meetings since I was sworn in on January 1st. Two other meetings have been with neighborhood association presidents from across the city and with the Southwest Area Partnership.

Many more meetings are already on my schedule. I encourage anyone to contact me for meetings, to share a constituent concern, or to register an opinion on city matters.

You may call me at 436-4824; email me at <> or write me at 5207 Hopkinton Drive, Fort Wayne IN, 46814.

Citizens of the Fourth District should be pleased as I am that Ken Nicolet has agreed to stay on as the Southwest Areas Neighborhood Specialist. I have known Ken for nearly 25 years. He is a great guy and a responsive and knowledgeable resource for Fort Wayne residents.

I look forward to working with Ken to meet the resident’s concerns in the Fourth District. You may contact Ken Nicolet by calling him at the City-County Building at 427-1122.

As many of you may know, I served twelve years in the Indiana House Representatives. That experience will be helpful in dealing with the legislative reform being drafted during this session of the General Assembly concerning property tax relief and local governmental spending. I will bring that experience to serving as chairman of the City Council’s Finance Committee.


Mitch Harper

Latest posts by Mitch Harper - Fmr. Dist. 4 FW City Council (see all)

Mitch Harper - Fmr. Dist. 4 FW City Council

Mitch is a former representative of the 4th District on Fort Wayne's Common Council. The 4th District includes Waynedale, Time Corners and Aboite. He was first elected in 2007 and was re-elected in 2011. > Read Full Biography > More Articles Written By This Writer